In 1988, The Hon Ambassador Looi Cheok Hun, Ambassador to Norway, stationed in Sweden, and Director of MIDA (Malaysian Industrial Development Agency), Ramli Othman, from London, visited Norway.

They contacted Mrs Mette Karina Thorp (left image) and asked if she could find out how many Malaysians were living in Norway, get in touch with them and send the information to the Malaysian Embassy in Stockholm.  Until then, there had not been any register of Malaysians in Norway.

Together with  Professer Jan Evensmo of BI, a seminar called "Doing Business in Malaysia" was arranged.  Norwegian companies already established there were invited to talk about their experiences, likewise the Norwegian Ambassador to Malaysia and the Malaysian Ambassador for Norway were invited to talk.

During the seminar, an interim Board for the Norway Malaysia Association was established and rules and aims worked out.




Interim board:

Dir. Kjell Sletsjøe, Jotun

Dir. Michael Røtnes, Mustad

Dir. Tor Halvorsen, ABB

Dir. Steinar Olsen, Anshor Drilling Fluids

Prof. Jan Evensmo, BI

Dir. Mette Karina Thorp, Asia Consult

1st. elected board Dec.6. 1990:

Mette Karina Thorp (Chairman)

Steinar Olsen (Vice-Chairman)

Tor Halvorsen

Bjørn Floberghagen, Mustad

Arnfinn Jørgensen-Dahl, FNI

Jan Evensmo

Honorary Members:

Mr. Jan Evensmo

Mr. Michael Thorp

Mrs. Mette Karina Thorp (Lifelong)

Chairman of the Board:

1990 - 1996 Mette Karina Thorp

1996 - 1997  Michael Thorp

1997 - 1998  Mette Karina Thorp

1998 - 2000  Carsten J. Helgeby

2000 - 2005 Dr. Faredah Myhre

2006 - 2008 Dr. Imtiaz Hossain

2008 - 2010 Mary Anne Grønningen

2010 - 2011 Jessie Sandosham

2011 - 2013  Roslin N. Schlezinger

2013 - 2019 Uma Ganesan

2019 - current Pearl Ann Jeyaraj